Sharp Paynes

Never a dull moment…

Perspective

This is the beauty I get to run in.

One of the best places on earth, full of His glory, His people, His creation.  I run past crazy alpacas, bewildered cows, geese on the ponds, beautiful open fields.  Rarely a car passes, and the driver almost always waves.  Sometimes the fog is rolling over these mountains like sea billows, sometimes the sky above them is fiery red and orange.

But this is where my eyes tend to focus.

Isn’t that a lovely white line?  So straight and simple.

Shoulders hunched, eyes down, I shuffle along this white line.  Like Eeyore in the Hundred Acre Wood.

“Good morning, Pooh Bear,” said Eeyore gloomily. “If it is a good morning,” he said. “Which I doubt,” said he.

“Why, what’s the matter?”

“Nothing, Pooh Bear, nothing. We can’t all, and some of us don’t. That’s all there is to it.

“”Can’t all what?” said Pooh, rubbing his nose.

“Gaiety. Song-and-dance. Here we go round the mulberry bush.”

Just the other day I realized I ran through the valley this way.  So I purposefully lifted my head, my eyes, my thoughts.  My smile followed suit.  This.  Is.  Beautiful.  I love to run here!  I am blessed to live here, and abundantly blessed to be able to run here.

I just needed a change in perspective.

 I will lift up my eyes to the hills–From whence comes my help? 
My help [comes] from the LORD, Who made heaven and earth. – Psa 121:1-2 NKJV

One of my favorite words, perspective.  Probably because I so often am snapped to reality and see where my perspective has gone astray.  What if everything I did in a day was done with God’s perspective?  What if I stopped taking for granted His artwork all around and instead began to live enjoying it!  Little ol’ me, walking in His gallery?

For since the creation of the world His invisible [attributes] are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made,  – Romans 1:20a NKJV

We all want our work to be appreciated.

I will look up ; )

10 steps to stay alive to the beauty of God’s world

http://www.desiringgod.org/blog/posts/10-steps-to-stay-alive-to-the-beauty-of-gods-world

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. What a great reminder! We take this amazing world for granted so often; half the time we don’t even take time to see it. His creation is beautiful and I pray for a heart that is constantly seeing His beauty around me… what an awesome God we serve! 🙂

  2. Amen, Rachel. May we walk with lifted heads! Our God has done amazing things.

  3. The blogging world gets smaller everyday 🙂 Hello, Rachel! Good morning, Tresta! I pray you are both blessed as you ‘look up’ today.

  4. Pingback: Giving Thanks « Sharp Paynes

I'd love to hear what you have to say!