Sharp Paynes

Never a dull moment…

Five Minute Friday: Loud

Loud.  No editing, no over-thinking, but five straight minutes of writing about loud…

GO

All I could think of is India.  India is loud.  Honking, beeping, shouting, mooing loud.  And my husband, when talking with someone who speaks little english – he talks loud.  Because surely that will help them understand.

Beyond that, nothing.  Can’t I write about quiet?  I like quiet.

I went to blueletterbible.org and searched “loud” in the NKJV.

Of the 72 or so times the word “loud” came up, the  huge majority (I didn’t count)  were found in the book of Revelations.

Then I heard a loud voice saying in heaven, “Now salvation, and strength, and the kingdom of our God, and the power of His Christ have come, for the accuser of our brethren, who accused them before our God day and night, has been cast down. – Rev 12:10 NKJV

Yes!  Something worth shouting, the kind of loud I can rejoice in.

I prefer quiet, but aren’t some things just necessary to be loud about?

The demons cast out, they were loud.  The threats from the Assyrians, they were shouted for all to hear.  The people crying out for deliverance and rescue were not quiet about it.

The accuser of the brethren, day and night pointing his finger at us before God, his voice is loud in our ears.  {Can we please be louder than that accusing voice, and encourage one another loud enough to silence him?}

And though He never raised His voice in the streets, my Jesus, He cried out in a loud voice when it was finished.  One day He and His angels will be heard with a loud voice (hallelujah!) and all my quietness will rejoice.

Trumpets and angels and the people of God, all loud for His coming.

STOP

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Loud

  1. Amen. 🙂

    And thanks for stopping by!

  2. Err, stupid wordpress, I don’t know why it links to my twitter… trying again. :o)

  3. Nice post. But just so you know, India does have some amazing quiet places tucked away. And thank you for stopping by.

    • Yes, we’ve been blessed to be in those quiet places, too. A part of our heart is in the mountains of NE India, one of the quietest places on earth!

  4. I also love quiet. But, often, I believe we’re called to be loud and to be bold. Not in an annoying way; but as you indicated. Might we praise Him LOUDLY today!

  5. We can always praise and thank Him loudly — making a joyful noise unto the Lord!

    I frequently tell myself this when the kids’ happy shrieking gives me a headache 😉

  6. I LOVE this–to shout praise that is LOUDER than the accuser’s voice! I need this reminder day-by-day, minute-by-minute.

    And thank you for visiting my blog! I know; isn’t my tree-branch amazingly curly? It’s a branch from a Hazel Tree that grows in my neighbor’s garden downstairs and just outside my kitchen window. I just read that these trees are native to the Northern Hemisphere; the Germans eat Hazelnuts the way Americans eat peanuts (and especially in chocolate–Nutella is Hazelnut butter!) But apparently there is an American Hazel that grows in some parts of Eastern North America!

  7. “Can we please be louder than that accusing voice, and encourage one another loud enough to silence him?”–Can we, please??

    Love the idea behind this post; love your writing.

  8. Thanks, Kayla, for being louder than my accuser today : )

  9. Thank you for the wise words! And please tell Bailey I love her picture of the thistle. She has an eye for pulling the beauty out of the ordinary.

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

