Sharp Paynes

Never a dull moment…

When Saying “Thank You” is Just Obedience

I tell myself that I must model thanksgiving for my kids, that they will do what they see me doing.  When they were younger there were always the prompts.  “Tell Mrs. So-and-So ‘thank you’.”  “Say ‘please’ and ‘thank you’.”  “What do you say when someone gives you a gift?”  Now I am needing prompts.

Is it ok to say it just out of obedience?  Because you know it’s the right thing, the thing you should feel and say?  And because, cognitively, you know you have much to be thankful for?  But sometimes you just don’t feel it.  Ugh, this not feeling it affects everyone around.  They will do what they see me do.  It’s easy to say that doing the right thing leads to feeling the right thing.  Will it happen that way?

“Where’s the Thankful Book?”  he asks.

I wonder what he’s writing, this husband of mine who sees me out-of-character and loves me ugly.  He tells me I’m beautiful this morning, and I laugh!  Just like Sarah (Gen. 18).  Another area of obedience…choosing to believe.  And there he is on a Monday morning, ready for another crazy- busy week of building and going, with a sulky wife who has to ponder being thankful.  He writes thankfulness about things that are uncertain, questions we’ve been asking, direction we’ve been seeking.  With all that still before him, he’s thankful and taking the time to write it down.

He is my prompt today.  I am thankful for him.

Two [are] better than one, Because they have a good reward for their labor. 
For if they fall, one will lift up his companion. But woe to him [who is] alone when he falls, For [he has] no one to help him up. – Ecc 4:9-10 NKJV

God gives me exactly what I need.  I am thankful for Him.

 

101.  a lazy day in the  middle of the week

102.  Adventures in Odyssey

103. encouraging words

104. birds singing on a gray morning

105. Sharp Paynes : )  rockin’ the tests

106. Shelby’s smiles on my run

107. chocolate kisses

108. movie night

109. mommy making apple crisp

110. multi-grain pancakes, served by Shelby

111. ora et labora

112. my cast iron pans, from D

113. reminders…

114. God establishing the work of our hands (Ps. 90:17)

115. my husband – reminding me to be thankful

 

 

Single Post Navigation

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

