Sharp Paynes

Never a dull moment…

The Great Interrupter

I am very into schedules.  I have a whole computer file full of different schedules for different children and seasons and activities and moods and maybe-this-one-will-be-the-one.  Ah, to have life all neatly out on paper…with time slots and check-boxes.

When my children were babies their days were planned and there was no eating or sleeping happenin’ before the ‘planned time’.  Pooping and crying were allowed at random, but not much appreciated.  If someone came to watch the babies while daddy and mommy went out for a few sane moments, I had to have a detailed account of how their time was spent – how long did they nap, did they eat the right amount at the right time, did they burp…

And then came homeschool, a scheduler’s dream.  From 6:30 a.m til 2 p.m. I have every move calculated.  Sometimes, it even goes as planned.

Alas, the Great Interrupter will not leave me to my own devices.

Children grow, seasons change, my husband changes occupations, and with all the unexpected, schedules get scratched for real life.  So I have had to learn (am still learning) over the years to be flexible.  Allow for changes.  Use the schedule as a framework, made of wood and not immovable stone.  Suggestions, really.

OK, and some days we even forego the schedule altogether.

But I am learning to allow God room to work, and to actually look for Him to do something big.  I am praying prayers that are not safe, for things that are not scheduled.  Just between my God and myself, I am asking for Him to be big and ‘show Himself strong’ on my behalf (2 Chronicles 16:9).

As servants of God, we must learn to make room for Him-to give God “elbow room.” We plan and figure and predict that this or that will happen, but we forget to make room for God to come in as He chooses….Do not look for God to come in a particular way, but do look for Him. The way to make room for Him is to expect Him to come, but not in a certain way. ~ Oswald Chambers, My Utmost for His Highest

I read Oswald most mornings as part of my devotions, and sometimes I think he’s pointing right at me.  This particular morning, I also read about the ‘exceeding greatness of His power toward us who believe‘ in Ephesians 1:19…and is it just me, or is God pointing at me, too?  That I would leave room for God to be big, because His power in my life is exceedingly great.  Not ‘just enough’ power.  Not  power for only the biggest of problems.  Power in every circumstance, because no job is too big or too small.

Because I believe.

 

Single Post Navigation

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

