Sharp Paynes

Never a dull moment…

Chosen

Blessed [be] the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly [places] in Christ, just as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before Him in love, having predestined us to adoption as sons by Jesus Christ to Himself, according to the good pleasure of His will, to the praise of the glory of His grace, by which He made us accepted in the Beloved. ~ Eph. 1:3-6

It’s only 2 days into my study of Ephesians with the Good Morning Girls and already I am blown away.  How slowing down gives time to hear.  Time to savor and appreciate.  My tendency is to want to read big chunks of scripture, to move on and do more and check off another chapter.  How spiritually unproductive.

The verses this morning struck a chord in my heart.  One of my sisters shared this from Ephesians 1:5-6 ~

He knows the baggage that we bring with us and it is for His pleasure that he accepts and welcomes us, the broken, fearful, hopeless orphans of the world.

He knows our baggage, and chooses us anyway.

Last week my 7 year old poured out his heart to me after a time of discipline.  Sometimes the sting of discipline opens us up to spill out the deep things.  Even 7 year olds have deep things, and I am always thankful when a tough lesson brings sweetness and tenderness between mother and child.

“Mom, why did you and dad even get me if I do so many bad things?”

Gasp.  Could words hurt anymore than those?  Hurt for my son, and how long has he been thinking these things, and what else is in that tender heart?  And what have I conveyed?

“Son, mommy and daddy didn’t get you…we loved you before we ever saw your face and we worked hard to bring you home.  We chose to adopt you, honey.  And mommy and daddy do bad things, too, but that doesn’t stop our  heavenly Father from loving us.  He knew we would sin.  We knew you would sin, just like your brothers and sisters and even Pastor Travis and everyone else in this world.  But we will never stop loving you and neither will Jesus.”

Even Pastor Travis?!”

“Yes Ethan.”

End of conversation.  Hugs and kisses, apology and forgiveness…onto legos.

But the lesson is still in my heart, and this morning’s Word only served to deepen it.  I’m so thankful to be loved despite all the bad things I do, to be chosen before the foundation of the world, to be holy and without blame before Him.  Amazing love!

This is one of those ‘toodays’ (as Ethan spells it).  Too much to comprehend.  Too much not to notice His goodness.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Chosen

  1. Tears, tears, and more tears. Thanks, Tresta. I love, love, love Ethan. And I love you and am so thankful to have you as a friend. 🙂

  2. Ditto to all that, dear friend

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

