Sharp Paynes

Never a dull moment…

A few moments of craftiness

I am an impatient crafter.  When I want to do something, I just want to do it, not spend time gathering the proper materials and analyzing the best methods.  Just get it done : )

I’ve been wanting to make my own Kindle cover for some time out of an old book ($35 for a Kindle cover?  It‘s an empty book, for crying out loud!).  I love old books.  Plus, I wanted to maintain some respect among true book-lovers, some of whom think that the Kindle is to books what velveeta is to cheese.  (Yes, I struggled.  But the thought of having 1000s of books at my fingertips over-ruled my altruism.)  

Anyways, I have this wonderful old copy of The Merchant of Venice on my piano that was perfect for this project…but to my homeschool-heart’s delight, my son objected.  “I love that book, mom,” he says.  Melt.  Shakespeare is saved.

So I went to a used bookstore (favorite place!). It was one of those tight, cramped, overflowing bookstores, the ones that play classical music and smell like old books…the kind you don’t take toddlers to.  Love it.  Scanning the floor-to-ceiling shelves, I heard a voice say, “Now which one of you will be the sacrifice, having your words torn from your binding with an exacto knife and your thoughts dumped in the trash like yesterday’s junk mail?”  

I left empty-handed.

This was taking way too much thought. 

Yesterday, I had a few moments between math tutoring and orchestra, so I pulled into Staples. I came out $11.84 later with new inspiration!

Image

A journal in my favorite green and some velcro : )  I found the scrapbook paper when I got home, and in about 15 minutes I had a Kindle cover!

Image

Image

Did I mention that I’m not a perfectionist?  Someday maybe I’ll do some pretty ribbon or something to hide the border, since in my haste I cut the paper too short.  But for now, I’m happy.

*No words were harmed in the making of this cover.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “A few moments of craftiness

  1. This is great! You are so crafty! While I would have had no problem tearing pages from a book, I’m not at all surprised to read of your dilemma.

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

