Sharp Paynes

Never a dull moment…

Intentions

“…you did well that it was in your heart.” – 1 Kings 8:18

I have a lot of good intentions.  Send that card, make a meal, just pick up the phone and call.  Most of my good intentions end up being the burdensome-undones, though; the things I coulda-shoulda-but-didn’t do.  If everyone was just blessed by my thoughts of them and the things I could do for them, life would be grand!

Doesn’t really work that way, though.

And it’s good that it is in my heart to do these things.  I know God sees those intentions.  But I really need some follow-through, some tangible evidences of my thoughts.

I’m always comforted by King David’s life.  The man-after-God’s-own-heart who had Good Intentions, but was sometimes derailed by sin or bloodshed; God saw his heart.  God saw David’s life as one whole pursuit of Him, and the bumps along the way didn’t negate the intentions of his heart.   Like when your 7 year-old tries to bless you and ends up baptizing the floor in milk – you know his intentions were for good.  His humanity just got in the way.

I’m not making light of David’s sins.  And I’m not making excuses for my un-done good.  One of my words/goals for the year is intentional, because I desperately need to live and love on purpose.  And if Christ is in me and moving me according to His purposes (Ephesians 2:10), then every Good Intention is an opportunity to obey Him and bring Him glory.  Every missed opportunity is a chance to do it right next time.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Intentions

  1. Great thought to ponder about being intentional! This really encouraged me…thanks for sharing!

  2. Amy – I am trying to find like-minded blogs on wordpress. I found yours by following the topic ‘family’ on my wordpress homepage!

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

